It’s All About Love Baby!

“The one who loves has fulfilled the law.”  See Romans 13: 8-10

Having had some distance and freedom from the hold that religious law had on me as a child, I am still amazed how worried some people get about whether or not they are doing the right thing or following the right path.  Those who are more traditional in their spiritual persuasions repudiate contemporary spiritual authors as being New Age or off track or downright dangerous!  And those of us who are more contemporary in our spiritual persuasions sometimes look at those who hold to traditional beliefs as if they are old fashioned, close minded and unenlightened!  I am as guilty as anyone else about this.

Whatever our spiritual path may be, its authenticity is tested in love.  It’s all about love.  If my path isn’t leading me to be a more loving, kind, self giving person, then something needs to be adjusted.  That’s the true test.  That’s where the rubber hits the road.  So the next time I find myself getting upset at those unenlightened religious folk who are stuck on the law, perhaps I need to remind myself that it’s all about love, let go and simply BE what I want to see in others.


Leave a comment